CSK won the IPL title for the fifth time

Equaled Mumbai Indians’ five titles

In a breath-taking final, Chennai Super Kings hit a winning four in the last innings to clinch India’s record fifth IPL title, defeating Gujarat Titans by 5 wickets. Gujarat scored 214 for 4 in 20 overs in this match which was delayed due to rain. After this, the rain came and the target of 171 runs was achieved in 15 overs, and Chennai were 15 off the last ball.

image source – Twitter

Chasing the target, Rituraj Gaikwad and Devon Conway opened for Chennai with 74 runs off 39 balls. But, Noor Ahmed dismissed Rituraj in the seventh over. Conway scored 47 runs off 25 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes, while Rituraj scored 26 runs off 16 balls with 3 fours and a six. Pacer Mohit Sharma dismissed Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni to tilt the match in favor of Gujarat. Dhoni became a victim of golden duck. Needing runs in the last over, Ravindra Jadeja hit a six and a four off the last two balls to give Chennai the win.

image source – Twitter

Before that, Sai Sudarshan’s storming batting led Gujarat to a double century. Sudarshan’s century was missed by 4 runs. He hit 26 runs off 47 balls with 8 fours and 6 sixes. Due to heavy rain on Sunday, the final match was played on Monday. Even after the match was postponed by a day, thousands of Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s supporters from the suburbs extended their stay by a day and literally filled the Narendra Modi Stadium. Gill and Wriddiman Sah got off to a fast start and put on a 42-ball 67. Gill scored 20 39 while Saha scored 54 off 32 balls with 5 fours and a six. Sudarshan and Saha shared 64 off 42 balls for the second wicket. After this, Sudarshan made an important partnership of 81 runs in 33 balls for the third wicket with captain Hardik Pandya while giving a great speed to Gujarat’s run rate.

image source – Twitter


Chennai Super Kings became the second team after Mumbai Indians to win the IPL title five times.

image source – ndtv sports

Ambati Rayudu who won the most IPL title six He became the second cricketer after Rohit Sharma.

image source – Twitter

Vriddhiman Saha became the first wicket-keeper batsman to score 50+ twice in 3 IPL finals.

image source – outlook india

Ravindra Jadeja running on the field with his bat after hitting the winning four on the last ball 4 Shubman Gill surpassed Josh Buttler (863) to score the second most runs in an IPL season. Virat Kohli (973) remains at the top position.

image source – Twitter

Mahendra Singh Dhoni became the first cricketer to play 250th IPL match, while Shubman Gill broke the record of Virat Kohni (2016) and Kane Williamson (2018 both 12 times each) while scoring the most 30+ runs in an IPL season 13 times.

Leave a Comment